Life Cycle of Frog

Life Cycle of Frog

Life Cycle of Frog

      Most of us must know frogs (singular = Frog) which we can see around our environment are amphibians that belongs to a group of vertebrates which mean animal that has a backbone. A frog has unique life because the frog can live not only in the water but also on the land. Besides, a frog has also unique life circle. For this, here we want to share Life Cycle of Frog. (also read : Information About Frog)

Below is the Life Cycle of Frog:

1.  The Egg

      Frogs lay their eggs in water or wet places.  A floating clump of eggs is called frog spawn.   

      The eggs will hatch within 3-25 days, depending on the species and water temperature. They will hatch faster if the water is warmer. Colder temperatures will slow down the hatching process. Eggs vary in size, colors and shapes with different species. The eggs are usually covered with a jellylike substance that acts like a protective coating. Even the jelly differs, depending on species. The mass of cells in the egg come to form an embryo. Organs and gills begin to form, and in the meantime, the embryo lives off of its internal yolk.

2.  The Tadpole

      After its hatching, the embryo leaves its jelly shell, and attaches itself to a weed in the water. This quickly becomes a tadpole, a baby frog. It does not look like frogs yet. The tadpole looks more like little fish. It has a tail and has external gill which it breath through. Tadpoles eat plants and decaying animal matter. However, some will eat eggs of other frogs and even other tadpoles. The tadpoles grow until they are big enough to break free into the water.  This can take from 3 days to 3 weeks, depending on what kind of frog they will become. The tadpole has a long tail, and lives in the water. It is extremely vulnerable, and must rely on its camouflage to protect it.

3. The Tadpole Begins to Change

     After about five weeks, the tadpole begins to change. It starts to grow hind legs, which are soon followed with forelegs.   Behind their heads bulges appear where their front legs are growing. Their tails become smaller.  Lungs begin to develop, preparing the frog for its life on land.   Now and then, they wiggle to the surface to breathe in air.  The tail becomes larger and makes it now possible for the tadpole to swim around and catch food.  They eat plants and decaying animal matter.  Some tadpoles eat frog’s eggs and other tadpoles.

      Over time, the tadpole becomes even more froglike.  They have shed their skin and lips. Its mouth widens, and it loses its horny jaws. The tail becomes much smaller, and the legs grow. The lungs are almost functioning at this point.

      Not all eggs or tadpoles will make it to the adult stage. There are many threats like ducks, fish, insects and other water creatures that will eat the eggs. When they are tadpoles, they still face danger like being eaten by larger water animals or die when the pond dries up.

4. The Frog

      Eleven weeks after the egg was laid, a fully developed frog with lungs, legs, and no tail emerges from the water. This frog will live mostly on land, with occasional swims. The tiny frogs begin to eat insects and worms.  Eventually, it will find a mate. The way this is done varies depending on the species. The female lays the eggs, the male fertilizes them, and the whole process begins again.

      This unique life of frog shows us about the greatness of Allah, our God.

      That’s all about Life Cycle of Frog we can share for this occasion. We hope that our post about Life Cycle of Frog above can be useful for us for having information about the life of frog. (also study other material in Indonesian version at : Ciri Ciri Tumbuhan Dikotil)

One thought to “Life Cycle of Frog”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *