History of Blitar City

History of Blitar City

History of Blitar City

History of Blitar City

       Blitar City is located in the southern part of East Java Province, Indonesia. The city is located about 167 km south of Surabaya City. Blitar City is famous as the birthplace and burial of the first president of Republic of Indonesia, Ir. Soekarno. (Also read : Legend of Baturraden)

       Based on a number of history books, Blitar was a stretch of forest that was still untouched by humans. Nilasuwarna or Gusti Sudomo, the son of Duke Wilatika Tuban, at that time, carried out the task of the Majapahit Kingdom to crush the Tartar forces hiding in the southern forest (Blitar and its surroundings). Because, the Tartar army had carried out a number of rebellions which could threaten the existence of the Majapahit Kingdom.

       Luck was in favor of Nilasuwarna, he could drive the Tartar away. For his success, he was awarded the title as Duke of Aryo Blitar I to then lead the area that was successfully captured. He named the land he succeeded in releasing under the name “Balitar”, which means returning Tartars. (Also read other article at : Yakinlah Allah Selalu Bersama Kita)

       However, in its development there was a conflict between Aryo Blitar I and Ki Sengguruh Kinareja which was none other than his own patih. This conflict occurred because Sengguruh wanted to marry Dewi Rayung Wulan, wife of Aryo Blitar I.

       Soon, Aryo Blitar I stepped down and Sengguruh won the throne with the title of Duke of Aryo Blitar II. However, rebellion occurred again. Aryo Blitar II was forced down by Joko Kandung, the son of Aryo Blitar I. The leadership of Joko Kandung was stopped by the arrival of the Dutch. Actually, the multiethnic people of Blitar at that time had made a fight, but could be muted by the Dutch by making new regulations.

       The city of Blitar began with the status of gemeente (kotapraja= municipal) on April 1, 1906 based on the regulations of Staatsblad van Nederlandsche Indie No. 150/1906. In that year several other cities were also formed on Java, including Batavia, Buitenzorg, Bandoeng, Cheribon, Magelang, Samarang, Salatiga, Madioen, Malang, Soerabaja, and Pasoeroean.

       With its status as gemeente, it was also formed Blitar’s Kotapradja Council, which it consisted of 13 members, and received a subsidy of 11,850 guilders from the Netherlands Indies Government. In the meantime, the position of burgemeester (mayor) was held by the Resident of Kediri.

       During the Japanese occupation, based on Osamu Seirei in 1942, the city was called Blitar-shi with an area of ​​16.1 km² and was led by a shi-chō. (Also read other article at : Makna Dibalik Filosofi Ketupat Lepet)

       Furthermore, based on the Law No. 17/1950, Blitar City was designated as a small city area with an area of ​​16.1 km². In its development, the name of the city was later changed to Blitar Municipality based on Law No. 18/1965. Based on Government Regulation No. 48/1982, the area of ​​Blitar Municipality was increased to 32.58 km² and developed from one to three sub-districts with 20 sub-districts. Finally, based on Law No. 22/1999, the name Blitar Municipality was changed to Blitar City.


       That’s all the post about the History of Blitar City we can share for this occasion. We hope the post about the History of Blitar City above can add our knowledge about Blitar City. (Also read other article at : Soal UTS IPA Kelas 7 Semester 1)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *